Winter Boots

In the past, dievca has lurked on eBay looking for a pair of vintage après-ski Winter boots and a Dale of Norway Sweater. she found the sweater (and sold it at a significant gain), but the closest she came to the boots were some falling apart faux fur ones…dievca turned her view towards these other boots as a stopgap.

oscar-fur-boots-fox fur brown

Oscar Fur Boots Fox Fur

Australia Luxe Collective Renegade Black

Australia Luxe Collective Renegade Black

Moon Boot Safari

Moon Boot Safari

Cougar the pillow boot

Cougar “the pillow boot” Black

Then all of a sudden in 2014…dievca ran into a brand of snow boots that are re-creating the ones she has desired for all those years. Expensive ($605), but lust-worthy…at least in dievca’s mind.penelope-chilvers-incredible

penelope-chilvers-one pair

Penelope Chilvers™ Incredible boots

J Crew’s description:

Mukluks for city dwellers—that’s how we’re thinking of these throwback winter booties from London-based designer Penelope Chilvers. They’re impossibly soft (thanks to a full shearling lining), covered in calf hair and trimmed with playful, multicolored piping. Best of all? A full rubber sole means even the slipperiest of subway staircases are fair game.

  • 1 1/4″ heel.
  • Calf hair upper.
  • Shearling lining.
  • Rubber sole.
  • Import.

What kind of Winter Boots are you wearing?


19 Comments on “Winter Boots”

  1. cpmandara says:

    I love them. Very winter chic 😉 Hope you find those vintage boots at some point 😉

    • dievca says:

      There is one last pair in my size at Zappos….but, I just bought a pair of ACNE black boots, so I think that I am out of luck… Maybe she will have something great for next year…

  2. I’m wearing northface, knee high with fur, leather upper, lace up back and ankle zip for easy wear…they are super warm and they let me slide around on the frozen lake despite having pretty good grip on the soles… But I’d go for the Oscar’s… with tights, thigh length jacket and a colorful scarf….

    • dievca says:

      Your boots sound fabulous! I can see you sliding around the lake. 🙂
      I own all the pairs I mentioned. I bike and walk to work, so I really use my winter boots. I’ve had the Oscars for about 7 years (they are starting to leak), the Renegades 2 years (replaced a pair of Uggs), the Moon Boots – my Mom took and the Cougars are new to match my new coat.

      Snow today, so the Cougars are in rotation. XO

  3. Mel Douleur says:

    I hate functional boots…. give me an over the knee, high heeled patent leather pointed toe, or I’ll just weather my suede cowboy booties… thanks! 😉

  4. hispetitelle says:

    I have my dark brown Columbia mid calf lace ups with fur boots that I get a lot of mileage out of and pair of black Khombu booties to knock around the slush in. I killed my black Uggs last year and my daughter “inherited” my pink Uggs. Uggs out here aren’t a fashion statement. We need to keep our feet warm!

    • dievca says:

      I actually kind of hate Uggs…but you are right, they are an evil necessity. I replace the black ones because I lived without them for awhile and realized that I kept hunting for them. I am finding that the Cougars are doing a nice job and those Australia Luxe boots may disappear. XO

  5. esther says:

    found my motorcycle style winter boots so i could trudge through the snow to the post office at zappos…i think they’re softwalk brand.

    • dievca says:

      Tall or Short? I looked them up — they look nice. Are they the Softwalk Bellville?
      I should mention that I sold my Moncler down boots this year because I bought that new coat. They didn’t match anything anymore.

      • esther says:

        yes, the Bellville! there’s usually not a huge choice in a narrow, and i ran into fit issues in the toe box on the others i’d tried; these fit well and are a good price.

  6. BoPeep says:

    Upon seeing these, I was immediately transported back to Vermont in the mid 60s when people wore slim ski pants tucked inside their boots and big puffy jackets that belted at the waist. My parents were busy trying master the Arlberg technique as demonstrated by Austrian ski school instructors 🙂

    • dievca says:

      How Classic! (no pun intended) I remember those 1960’s ski boots — they looked like the Colorado hiking boots with metal buckles. And the gorgeous Sweaters — similar to the Dale of Norway sweaters, actually. 🙂

  7. BoPeep says:

    And sigh… This far north it’s North Face and Vasque, but my feet were toasty in single digits, standing on the frozen lake last week, waiting for the kids dogsled ride to finish up!

    • dievca says:

      Hah! I went and looked up the Vasque brand and saw the vintage “Colorado” Boot style. Made me laugh! I am guessing the Vasque brand is more of a hiking boot brand. Got it. My hiking boots are Haglöfs, (I know you go for evening walks/hikes)
      Keep those tootsies WARM!

      • BoPeep says:

        Yes, cold weather hiking, they function beautifully but ohhh ugly. I carry my usual black boots with me to change into though once I’m where I’m going to be 🙂 We are hovering around 3 degrees right now, too cold for doggies to be out for long!

  8. jackiemallon says:

    Sure beats my Kmart for style although mine sure are toasty on days like today! x


Thoughts?

