fomo: fear of missing out

Living in New York is like being at some terrible late-night party. You’re tired, you’ve had a headache since you arrived, but you can’t leave because then you’d miss the party.
Simon Hoggart

NY Public Library 100th Anniversary Party

NY Public Library 100th Anniversary Party, Christian Oth Studios

fomo: “fear of missing out”.
The fear that if you miss a party or event you will miss out on something great

dievca is getting old. she watches the young ones rush around and kill themselves to get to multiple events. she also watches her age group not commit to one event in a timely manner because they are worried that they might miss a “greater” event, never realizing how transparent and rude their actions seem.

Master and dievca both feel that – as there are responsibilities with being the host/hostess of an event — there are responsibilities of being a guest. Perhaps people forget about that behavior.

Master tries to be an excellent guest and He expects His dievca to be an excellent guest, too.

For an intimate event (smaller party in the home or venue):

Did you offer to help or bring something to the party?
Are you ready to converse, be pleasant and take part?
Can you, will you step in to help the host/hostess?
Can you, will you redirect conversations that have gone sour?
Can you, will you speak with the lonely person in the corner?
Did you avoid drinking too much?
Did you offer to help clean up at the end?
Did you say “Than You” or send a note?

This behavior is on dievca’s mind because she watched a party evening unfold — a great deal of fomo and selfishness was witnessed. It was painful to watch.

math_equation_clock_1But, dievca did her part as a good guest — even to the letter of digging through her brain cells to talk “higher mathematics” with a lonely one in the corner. The smell of her stagnant math skills sizzled grossly upon start-up.

Then nice things happened: she received a lovely e-mail, an interesting book, a suggestion of an exhibition to see, two invitations to wonderful events, made an excellent contact and has chances for meeting new and unique friends.

Yes to pushing through and going out in NYC, No to fomo and Yes to being a good guest.


11 Comments on “fomo: fear of missing out”

  1. Pelelotus says:

    Manners maketh the woman/man x

  2. hispetitelle says:

    It truly saddens me to see such atrocious manners by many younger than ourselves. Our elders said the same about our generation, but it really is worse than ever. In our day, the neighbor or grocer or mailman would correct a child’s bad manners. You don’t dare speak up today. I’ve had mothers trip out on me. So sad. A child pushed through to grab some napkins while I was putting cream in my coffee and caused me to stumble and spill half my cup. She paid no attention and never apologized. I went up to her and pointed it out. Her mother told me to F-off. There’s a selfishness today that is appalling.

    • dievca says:

      I think I scared people off with my moralizing…Ahhh, well – it was on my mind and it’s my blog.
      I really appreciate when you can tell that parents taught their children manners. It makes a huge difference. If you correct someone’s child perhaps the Parent feels like you are exposing them and their poor performance. Who knows.
      Please just remember to say “Thank You” when I hold the door open for you. XO

      • hispetitelle says:

        You didn’t scare me. I just remember a day when we held each other more accountable for bad behavior.

      • dievca says:

        Good to know! 😀
        But, no one likes to see/hear someone shaking a finger at them. I didn’t think I was doing that in this post, but I guess I was~ too bad, my finger needed the exercise. (Or people don’t go out to parties very often, could be)
        I know that I try to be polite, but I really lose it when I am tired or stressed (as does everyone…) Love to you and yours.

  3. esther says:

    i’m usually the one in the corner…or hiding/helping in the kitchen. xx

    • dievca says:

      No worries, I’ve met a great guy who likes to talk Mathematics – but he can be distracted into other topics. I’ll get the convo going and if it is a bust, head into the kitchen for cover. XO

  4. This is SO true. I am a HUGE believer in manners..and I can always tell the people who think it’s OK to cancel…..and, not surprisingly their always the most fickle people in life.. xxx


Thoughts?

