When Master and dievca survived an IKEA piece~

In the very early days of their relationship, dievca and Master put together a piece of IKEA furniture.  It was something for Master’s living room before he decided to hire a decorator. The desk/side table was used for one week before being given to a friend.

The process cemented the beginning of dievca and Master’s friendship.
Not their D/s relationship.

dievca is very spatially-oriented. she did a lot of house repairs with her Father and has refurbished a number of antiques .

Master is more cerebral. He has the basic skills for maintaining a home properly, but no real desire to putter around tools. He would prefer to hire someone to do those items.

Enter the IKEA Bestå Burs desk:

IKEA Bestå Burs desk

The TEST PIECE: an IKEA Bestå Burs desk

Master was going to hire someone to assemble it on Craig’s List.
dievca said, “We can do it!”

So, they took one afternoon to open the package, count the pieces and put the side table together.  All was going well until dievca flipped one of the drawer’s sidewall the wrong way. she caught the problem early, but the piece needed to be pulled apart.  It turned out to be stubborn and stuck firmly…so dievca set it up so Master could step on the piece for leverage and use his arms/shoulder strength to separate the drawer pieces. Good idea until Master slipped back and stepped in the middle of the piece. It snapped in two after it popped undone.

And dievca learned that her Master has a bit of a temper~ she was impressed with verbal outpouring.

After the “cool down”…dievca and Master put their heads together and figured out how to save the situation.
Wood Glue and Duct Tape!

Master ran out to get wood glue, while dievca put the rest of the pieces put together.  He was able to glue the sidewall back together and then use duct tape to make sure it stayed firm. The duct tape did not interfere with the drawers rolling action and was not visible. SUCCESS!

The experience taught Master and dievca how each other works on a project, what their irritation thresholds look like, what their tempers look like and how they work together as a team. The verdict? — those who can IKEA together, hang together.

What prompted this post?

NY Magazine: The Cut — IKEA

So, what was your experience with IKEA furniture? XO


19 Comments on “When Master and dievca survived an IKEA piece~”

  1. We LOVE Ikea. 3/4’s of the furniture in our house is from there. I have tools, lots of tools and putting everything together was a project I looked forward to. Matter of fact now that we are settling into our new home another trip to Ikea for a few more pieces is in the near future.

    • dievca says:

      I like the part: “I have tools, lots of tools” –wink, wink.
      I have about 80% IKEA in my small NYC apartment. I rent. I have oak/cherry antiques in storage in the Midwest – about 3000 sq.ft worth…we will see what happens with them. M. owns his apt. and is making a permanent space, hence the designer. It’s good.
      There is room for both in the World.
      It was just fun (yep, I said fun) to see how we both function. A positive experience that we both have commented on.

  2. Pelelotus says:

    Interesting exercise in team work. Better than actually going into an Ikea shop, an insufferable nightmare!

    • dievca says:

      You are funneled through like rats, huh? We have another store in the States that does that – Stew Leonard…. People either don’t mind or they hate it.

  3. hispetitelle says:

    I’m calling you McGyver 😀

    I can’t do the IKEA maze. Love their things, but I hate the store layout.

    • dievca says:

      I can wander…actually hardware stores are my favorite. Reminds me of my Father.
      I only get irritated when I don’t have the time — but then I am great at going cross-country through the stairways and cutting across sections. All IKEA stores are basically set-up the same. If you know the pattern, you can cut through.

      • hispetitelle says:

        I need you to guide me. I haven’t been back since. I can spend hours in a hardware store. I like the old kind of hardware stores best.

      • dievca says:

        There’s one on 9th that has been “booed” on Yelp by handicap people. It was set-up in the 1940’s, floor to ceiling shelves. I love it. The owners/workers are willing to run and bring a selection of items for you to look at bc your wheelchair isn’t going to make it through the isles. Apparently that wasn’t good enough. My suggestion? There is a Home Depot on 23rd street.

      • hispetitelle says:

        You can’t please everyone. If they widened the aisles and lowered the shelves they would have to carry less merchandise and less variety. The store would go under. Having employees get merchandise is a creative solution. A hardware store personal shopper, if you will.

  4. kinkyktee says:

    My Sir went into IKEA store once and said he would never go back.

  5. esther says:

    my stepdad and i bonded over ikea furniture we put together. my newest piece was frustration because the holes didn’t line up…so my sister came over to help muscle it through, then stomped off because i don’t have air conditioning. feh.

  6. Ikea is as you said: it will either make it or break it. I will do anything to NOT EVER go to Ikea but I agree they have some cute/practical stuff (some of which at my home too…). It’s not their layout I hate, it’s the hordes and the fact that when I finally spot something, it will be the single one think missing from stock. Sure thing… 🙂

    • dievca says:

      The missing item? Been there….I remember IKEA being more crowded in Europe than in the USA and people wander aimlessly more in Europe. Got it with your irritation. 🙂

  7. jackiemallon says:

    Well, we’re getting quite accustomed. We bought an apartment with a stylish but entirely dysfunctional bathroom sink by Italian company Agape. We both turned to each other this weekend and said with frustration at the inadequacy of the aforementioned item, “When should we got to Ikea and get a proper one?” Great minds think alike “-)

    • dievca says:

      I just looked at the Agape stuff — beautiful! But if it doesn’t work, the beauty dies quickly… I’ve never done IKEA bathroom fixtures…just Kohler and Grohe. Good Luck with finding and installing a new bathroom sink. 😉


Thoughts?

