I gets no sleep…

When I have my moments of insomnia,
you’ll find me on style.com.
Cate Blanchett

insomnia2

It’s a new pattern. Something that has happened since dievca met Master, she has become more aware of herself and her World.  The problem or the gift is that dievca wakes up at 2:00 am when she is analyzing something. Sometimes it’s from a source of great anger, sadness or frustration, but the insomnia can also be a time of great clarity and creativity.

Master says you face your greatest fears at 2:00 am.

If dievca is lucky, she can get back to sleep until 4:00 am and all the anger, thoughts, fears and over-analysis becomes softer, more blurred. Less raw. It is a fascinating pattern. And a pattern it is~

Master gets both the raw 2:00 am thoughts and the 4:00 am softened version when dievca needs to let it all out. He holds up quite well and has learned that if there is a 2:00 am anger it does soften into a 4:00 am apology.

dievca asked Him if she needs to work on managing the insomnia and Master replied that He has always had 2:00 am moments. He feels that they are necessary to grow as a human. dievca is not as sure — a full nights sleep makes her baggy eyes look better.

Causes of Insomnia

Causes of acute insomnia can include:

  • Significant life stress 
  • Illness √
  • Emotional or physical discomfort √
  • Environmental factors like noise, light, or extreme temperatures (hot or cold) that interfere with sleep √
  • Some medications may interfere with sleep
  • Interference with your normal sleep schedule

Causes of chronic insomnia include:

  • Depression and/or anxiety
  • Chronic stress
  • Pain or discomfort at night

Whoop, Hello — looks like dievca ran into 4 of the acute insomnia triggers multiple times this year.
Got it.

The immediate quest?  To limit these factors and get some sleep. And if not,  dievca is going to follow Cate Blanchett’s lead and wander around Style.com.
XO

Faithless – Insomnia (Pinkpop1998)


17 Comments on “I gets no sleep…”

  1. KittNoir says:

    Ditto last night. Uch send all the coffee #hugs

  2. Mine struck at 2. By 3:30 I just got up and started working on the issues that tangled me in my sheets. Now I have a lonnng list…some of it decipherable. Looks like you, me and Ms KittNoir could have had a conference call. Cups up- what’s in yours? I’ve got a strong hazelnut going with a generous pour of half-n-half…

  3. And may i add…wheres the UNLIKE button for posts like this…? WordPress??? c’mon! oh, i see… they’re sleeping like babies in their digital offices…

  4. hispetitelle says:

    Oh, do I understand this. I had about three years of terrible insomnia. I used to only sleep 3-4 hours a night, if that. For years before that it was restless sleep because of the brewing thyroid problem and babies waking me up. Once I got a good doc and the correct med I started to sleep through the night. The first time I slept about 7 hours it was like heaven. It has taken the last three years for my body to balance out after a good 10 years of insufficient sleep. I can’t believe a went a decade not sleeping. It’s one of main reasons I do everything I can to take care of my health.

    • dievca says:

      Goodness, does our body hold the sleep deprivation for years. ARGH! I am so glad to hear that you were able to get insomnia under control. Working with half sleep reserves would be a bear. XO

      • hispetitelle says:

        I was the walking dead. I would give everything I had to Coach and the kids and then I was catatonic, but still couldn’t sleep. I would crash on the couch just after dinner and woke about 3-4 hours later and couldn’t get back to sleep. Long story. I felt old and my self esteem was in the toilet. My Endocrinologist raised me from the dead.

  5. esther says:

    i was always a very light sleeper…never felt restored. i was doing better whilst on pain meds because they’d knock me out. now, we’re switching the meds around…and i thrash in bed all night and can’t sleep at all. i’m a zombie 😦 urggh aarrgh

  6. Sending love. There’s nothing worse than sleep deprivation. Don’t know if you’re up for it, but melatonin can work..also things like night nurse with their drowsy effects..sometimes they can just be enough to break the pattern… xxx

    • dievca says:

      Thank you for the great suggestions. Melatonin got me back on track when the stress was really bad an I was off schedule. Now, the 2:00 am wake ups are less frequent and only if I am upset or mulling over something. But, I have the bottle of Melatonin on hand – just incase~


Thoughts?

