The Jury’s Out: Embellished Boxy Jackets

Boxy Beaded Jacket alice_and_olivia_ILIANA DROPSHOULDERAlice & Olivia offered some Boxy Beaded Jackets in their line for F/W 2015 and S/S 2015.

dievca was intrigued and sent down Memory Lane with the offerings.  Flashback to the late 80’s early 90’s with the shoulders and beaded offerings….dievca had a killer multi-colored jacket she wore for many occasions (similar to the photo on the right).Boxy Beaded Jacket Vintage eBay  Should she do it again?  Alice & Olivia or go the vintage route?  Or bypass the idea completely….

Would Master like to see it? Hmmm~

Weigh in and let dievca know. XO


13 Comments on “The Jury’s Out: Embellished Boxy Jackets”

  1. Devonne says:

    I always love the way these look on the hanger, like pieces of art, but have never found one that I like on me. My favorites of your selection are the vintage Delia Roufogali and the I. Magnin. 80’s fashion was fun, remember bolero jackets and knickers? LOL

  2. Pelelotus says:

    Depends if it looks/feels good on you. X

  3. esther says:

    i still have my bedazzler, but i’m sorry, these look so matronly…i wouldn’t consider a single one to actually wear. the workmanship (workwomanship) is beautiful, though. xx

    • dievca says:

      They do look matronly! I was thinking of wearing it with jeans or more casual black pants — not to a cocktail party. That might kill the “Matron” look.

      • esther says:

        i like the way the Alice & Olivia one in the main photo is styled by rolling up the sleeves. that should work well with the jeans strategy 🙂 xx

  4. Mel Douleur says:

    I like them, but I’d look like a football player in those padded shoulders…

  5. stylentonics says:

    my kind of jacket 😉

  6. When you see them like this, side by side, they all look – well – glittery… So, anything without padding please – I suspect the colours of the first one, Alice & Olivia, would be perfect with you complexion?

    • dievca says:

      That jacket is why I started the post and then I remembered the jacket I had in the 80/90’s which started the vintage search…..I think I would wear it once or twice and then it would sit. That’s not good for the $, right? I do like some of the vintage, but like you said — the padding would have to come out.


Thoughts?

