The Dry Cleaners

WOMEN and PANTS a constant challenge: dievca’s local dry cleaners
dievca has a certain pair of pants. she bought 4 pairs of them, 2 black and 2 grey. she wanted to buy more – but she couldn’t get them.  There isn’t a Sears in the City~

Metaphor quilted ponte leggings black Sears

click on the photo to see corresponding post about these pants (Metaphor – Sears)

Why Sears you ask?  Because they have pants that are cut for Curvy Bodies — dievca thinks they cater to the Hispanic crowd with curvy design.

Why so many? It’s hell for dievca to get pants which fit well. When she finds them, she buys in bulk.

Anyways, dievca had to take one pair of pants to the dry cleaners/tailors to be repaired.  The place is across the street from her building.

The Asian Ladies who work the intake/payment till and the sewing machine are an absolute delight!

Full blown conversation about finding pants for curves, being short, shopping, living in the suburbs, and crazy work hours…

  • Really? You are Asian and you have an ass and curves? Amazing! Try Sears~
  • Shopping Century 21 in the Suburbs vs. locations on Manhattan
  • You can’t get there? You work 6 days? 9-7 pm? Holy Toledo!
  • Who goes to Queens to shop? Not me…

dievca finally picked up the pants after a month and mentioned, “Oh, yeah, I need two pair of jeans hemmed.”  The till Lady literally commanded dievca, “Go and get those pants on NOW – otherwise you will forget.”  So, what did dievca do? she went and put on one pair of pants with one flip-flop and one sneaker, then brought the 2nd pair with platforms.

The lengths were determined and dievca realized….she had no pants to go home in if she left both pairs at the dry cleaner. By now, the Ladies are laughing at her, the doorman is laughing at her — but by damned — she got those two pairs of jeans hemmed, in a timely manner.

J Brand Allegiance Tailored High- Rise

J Brand Allegiance Tailored High- Rise

Current Elliott The Girl Crush in Retro Sky Blue.

Current/Elliott The Girl Crush in Retro Sky Blue.

And…it was determined by dievca and the till Lady (the seamstresses’ English wasn’t as good) that they both wear J Brand and J Brand Jeans are amazing for Women of any Ethnic background with Curves! dievca set the Lady on a quest to try Current/Elliott for the future.

Those Ladies made dievca’s day.
she loves NYC. ♥

People think NYC a cold, impersonal place – it’s not true. Lots of humor, humanity, and joy to be had. dievca hopes you get a kick out of this post series.

Future Episodes:

  • Kid on the subway with “God Bless You”.
  • Wisdom at age 17:  “Call them on their shit”
  • Growing up in the projects, learning chemistry from Weeds.
  • Buskers
(a NYC/dievca series) Neighborhood Anecdotes Episode #1

10 Comments on “The Dry Cleaners”

  1. Pelelotus says:

    Ha the problems us shorties go through to find proportions that fit us. Great that you have such a good dry cleaners/tailors. X

  2. zaychishka says:

    That’s nice they care about their clients! You got J brand jeans at Sears? Over here in the Canada.. We get j brand from Aritzia. So I’m impressed with Sears in NYC. And with The Ladies. !!

    • dievca says:

      No, the first photo of the pants are a Sear’s brand “Metaphor” — believe it or not I seek out Sear’s when I am back in the Midwest. Have found clothing (and tools) gems there in the past. The J Brand and Current/Elliot Jeans came from online venues. I do like that Aritzia, I found a winter hat with Horoscope graphics on it in 2015 (actually in another post…) XO
      Sorry for the confusion.
      Do you own any J Brand? I have a friend with curves who swears by AG Jeans. Not so good for me. 🙂

      • zaychishka says:

        Oh!! hahah, it’s probably my fault.
        Oh nice, yes I believe you for tools and gems!
        I find it amazing how they’ve opened Aritizia in the states..(first one opened on Robson Street Vancouver BC, and they’ve expanded!!..I don’t bother with them as often anymore because every girl where I live, lives in the Artizia staples lol- I will have to look for that post) But when I did shop at Artizia often..I picked up a pair of Pink J brand jeans but they don’t do my booty justice.

        I also don’t wear jeans as I used to, if I ever wear jeans these days it’s rare and I have a pair from Armani that are decent…I mean some lady once yelled at me that “you’re a sexy lady, very sexy” when I wore them. But I’m into leggings, or wide pants…or my Lord & Taylors these days.
        I do know that Seven jeans are pretty good too.
        AG jeans look intriguing, never tried them!

      • dievca says:

        I got it from the online shop. It’s in this post – the zodiac hat.
        https://dievca.wordpress.com/2014/12/06/saturday-museum-and-sex-shop-visit/

      • zaychishka says:

        I will check it 😛

  3. Heartafire says:

    # 1 jeans to die for!!

    • dievca says:

      They are REALLY good. I bought a 2nd pair — a bit darker…but when you find a style that FITS. Buy them in bulk because they will change (just like bras do…) 😉

      • Heartafire says:

        So true! I find that all the time. When I go back for more they have changed been discontinued ! These jeans are crazy good! 🙂


Thoughts?

