I do not think they will sing to me~

July 1946: Actor Gregory Peck sitting on the beach. (Photo by Eileen Darby/Time & Life Pictures/Getty Images)

July 1946: Actor Gregory Peck (Photo: Eileen Darby/Time & Life Pictures/Getty Images)

I grow old … I grow old …
I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled.

Shall I part my hair behind? Do I dare to eat a peach?
I shall wear white flannel trousers, and walk upon the beach.
I have heard the mermaids singing, each to each.

I do not think they will sing to me.Mermaid

T.S. Eliot
T.S. Eliot (1888–1965). Prufrock and Other Observations. 1920

10 Comments on “I do not think they will sing to me~”

  1. Pelelotus says:

    The sea, a meditative place. X

    • dievca says:

      Rivers, too. I watch the Hudson and Mississippi and the flow is timeless. Soothing.
      The poetry applies to a Man (Master), but to me – too.

  2. missagathaarmstrong says:

    … and such a sing they will sing x

  3. darkgemdom says:

    Reblogged this on Dark Gem and commented:
    I follow dievca’s blog. This lady posts some interesting articles that usually focus on fashion and the “fancier” items that are or can be associated with the D/s lifestyle. Enjoy

  4. zaychishka says:

    Gregory Peck, a true gentleman


Thoughts?

