Age and Advertising…

dievca doesn’t look 24 anymore….Master will say, “How old are you now? 39, right?”…she’s not sure if He is joking or not…but she knows that she is on the downside to 50.  The beautiful thing is that she feels young, vibrant and that translates to how people see her. And….she’s found that she prefers to see Cate Blanchette, Naomi Watts, Lauren Hutton, Helen Mirren in photos – rather than the young stars. They have a history, they are interesting, they have Lived.

Plus, NYC is a hot bed for gorgeous older women – AGING WITH STYLE – ‘ADVANCED STYLE’ DOCUMENTS BEAUTIFUL OLDER WOMEN AGED 62-95

Recently, dievca saw some of the new advertising for St. Laurent, Giorgio Armani, Calvin Klein and Balmain:

 

“For too long fashion has targeted very young girls, ignoring the swathe of older, confident consumers who have a high disposable income and are unsaddled by debt. They are a powerful and stylish army and don’t particularly want to dress in a uniform of wrap dress and nude court shoes,” Stella Editor Marianne Jones, 50, once said of this stylish demographic of women.

dievca may not look like those models, but “Three Cheers”, for the age range!

The Telegraph UK: Jane Birkin’s new Saint Laurent campaign is another sign fashion might finally be embracing grown-ups


11 Comments on “Age and Advertising…”

  1. Pelelotus says:

    Beauty is not reserved for the young alone. If you were smoking hot in your youth, you will likely be smoking hot in your mature years. X

    • dievca says:

      Umm, some ethnicities age better than others — so I cannot agree with that. I would say that I was “hotter” in my 20’s and it hasn’t carried over as well to my 40’s as my Asian friends. I have other friends who look better now!

  2. esther says:

    it’s about time! xx

  3. I’m kinda looking forward to getting older and looking like a person with a story, with experience who knows what she wants from life or what she doesn’t

  4. jackiemallon says:

    Lisa Bonet and Jane Birkin–there is no better!
    I’m not sure NYC is great for anyone other than the young. I look ahead and I want gardens and sky to contemplate my existence! I see the elderly in Winter here all stooped and lonely and it hits me. But we have a ways to go yet, young Dievca! X

    • dievca says:

      I sent my Mom Pucci/Wolford tights when I first got here. The NYC 80 year olds with leopard tights are my personal favorites. It’s just as tough in the Midwest Winters for the elderly — at least they can catch a bus or Uber, here. Many people get homebound in poor weather. At least my Mom does it in Pucci.

  5. Marty says:

    Three cheers indeed! I agree 1,000%


Thoughts?

