dievca always cries. (Olympics)

Sigh, dievca always cries during the Olympics. Winter or Summer.
Having been an elite Athlete for the USA,
she know how much pain and joy the athletes have known.
Emotions overwhelm her.

dievca is so happy to see the work done to achieve the honor of attending the Olympics.
she hopes every athlete competes well and brings their best.
It is a lifetime of work, presented to the World.

Here’s a photo mix of past inspirational athletes and gold medal winners from Rio.
Amazing.

Sport is one area where the World comes together in Peace.

Tell dievca that you only root for your country, tell her that you are not inspired from a great Road Cycling Race, Football Match, amazing Synchronized Diving skills, a fabulous High Jump — that you are not wiggling in your seat from a catchy Women’s Gymnastic Floor event. If you tell her that…she will make you sit next to her and watch with her eyes.

(BTW, another area of Peace is Science — but that is something for another post.)

PS. dievca mutters and asks questions through each event, analyzing the body mechanics, rules, performance, tactics.  Master is patient with her and is humored.

dievca will cry, again, on August 21st with the closing Ceremonies.
When the time to share the dreams of others comes to an end.
Dreams fulfilled or crushed.
A reflection of Life.


12 Comments on “dievca always cries. (Olympics)”

  1. Ret MP says:

    inspirational montage, d. I love Rulon’s story (wrestling.) I came into a wrestling family three decades ago…it’s third generation on the mat now. Very inspiring.

    • dievca says:

      I’ve seen a lot of older athletes coming back to their sport. The Uzbekistan gymnast in her mid-thirties! The trend used to be younger, younger, younger. When I was a child my brother took me to a HS wrestling match — a kid broke his leg. That’s one sport I have had trouble watching from then on~

  2. Ret MP says:

    You post and write and work with an olympian focus…I should have recognized the champion mentality…GO USA! It had always been my intention to be i Rio for these games. Life took a different turn and I’m watching different events now. Cheers- Ret

    • dievca says:

      I guess I learned the hard way that I’m more effective if I am consistent. (Hence, the once a day – posts). It’s like doing a pilates class or ballet bar work — simple consistent patterns. I wish you had been able to go to Rio, but knowing you… whatever you are watching is MUCH more interesting!

  3. jackiemallon says:

    I ddin’t know! What was your sport? Can we have a little post on that sometime..? X

  4. I’m right there with you. 💛
    I remember at the end of the 2012 Olympics I watched each of the BBC Olympic channels in turn come to an end. I was so sad!

    Ash

    • dievca says:

      You get it! Hah.
      And the amazing thing? Behind each athlete is a support team: family, country, companies, friends – whatever. It’s amazing that these people come together to make other people’s dreams come true. Generous. I want to honor that.

  5. Marty says:

    I just love the Olympics. I attended a few of them (as a spectator of course) and am close with several Olympians. No one really understands the work and sacrifice that’s needed on top of god-like talent and impeccable coaching. You don’t just go the OG. You earn every step of the journey. Knowing and appreciating that just makes watching the Games so much more enthralling.

    • dievca says:

      I am with you completely. Things I would never think about watching become completely entrancing because of the caliber of training, coaching and execution. Enjoy!


Thoughts?

