Find a Penny

20150416_073635

Photo: dievca NYC 2016

dievca was riding an elevator and she stopped to pick-up a penny before getting in. It was “heads up” (keep that in mind). One of the Ladies in the elevator who is quite wealthy stated that she couldn’t understand why dievca would bother to pick-up a penny. It expended too much energy for nothing.

dievca’s Midwestern came out…”Uh, because you never know when your Life might change and you need that penny, plus taking a moment to reach down and stretch will help my body when I am 66.”

20151222_132435

20151222_132435-2

20151222_132438
(Photo: dievca – Pennies on 7th Ave Crosswalk NYC – all “tails down” 2016)
Something that frustrated dievca to no end…

Let dievca explain.  she picks the penny (or coins) up only if they are “heads up” for good luck. If they are “tails up“, dievca will turn them over and place them for someone else to find the good luck.

Find a Penny
Pick it up
All Day Long
You’ll Have Good Luck

Modify the chant for a dime:

Find a Dime
Pick it up
10 Days Long
You’ll Have Good Luck

Whoa! What about a Dollar?

20161010_143109

Photo: dievca’s coin jar 2016

dievca doesn’t use the money — she collects it in a jar to give to a homeless shelter/soup kitchen here in the City. It’s not a lot, but its something. And her friends are giving her the change they happen to find, too. It’s become a thing.

So there you go….now you know an odd quirk about Master’s dievca.


17 Comments on “Find a Penny”

  1. You’re a sweet person, D .

  2. Pelelotus says:

    I do this too! People think it is just being money grabbing, but it more about good luck. If you find a note even better. In U.K, notes start with £5. X

    • dievca says:

      The most I found was those bills — $3.00 in the middle of the street. I put life and limb in jeopardy to pick those babies up! Did you ever find a £2 coin?

  3. darkgemdom says:

    I like this! Impressive

  4. missagathaarmstrong says:

    we go further here … find a penny , pick it up and all the day you’ve got good luck … pass it on.

    so when I find a penny I stop a stranger and give it to them wishing them a day of luck…. people take strangely when I give them a penny but they always seem to smile…

    but I must confess … I like your idea of saving them up and then passing them on ….

    and last comment … what a miserable lady in the lift …

    Dievca … you are the greatest treasure x

    • dievca says:

      Hmm, I wonder what I would do if someone gorgeous like you handed me a penny! I might smile and hand it back. XO
      (She’s a nice lady — just wealthy all her life, so she doesn’t understand the belt being tight. Clueless about reality.)

      • missagathaarmstrong says:

        I should place it gently in your open palm and close your pretty fingers around it … I’d kiss your cheek and wish you a heavenly day …. how could you possibly refuse x

      • dievca says:

        XO – just know that it would go in the jar. Pay it forward. ❤

      • missagathaarmstrong says:

        smiles … the perfect place … waiting for the perfect time x

  5. Rita says:

    ❤️❤️❤️

  6. Marty says:

    I’m not too proud to pick up ANY change. Heads, tails, doesn’t matter. I do it so that I reinforce in my memory the times I HAD to find money. Back then I’d always walk with my eyes focusing on the ground.


Thoughts?

