five o’clock shadow

five-oclock-shadow-getty-images

Photo: Five O’Clock Shadow – Getty Images

I came through the door, exhausted.
And dumped my coat and bag on the table.

Shoulders tense with eyes closed.

You got up to hold me.
I tucked my nose into Your neck.

With a deep breath, I smelled You.

Rubbing my cheek into Your chin.
Your five o’clock shadow made a scratching noise.

Making me smile.

Your warmth comforted me.
Your smell soothed me.

In Your arms, I am Home.


4 Comments on “five o’clock shadow”

  1. Cinn says:

    Beautiful ❤️


Thoughts?

