(Asking for opinions, please!) A lot going on – two Alexanders

dievca always has her eyes open for new dresses (at least new to her…) and she’s one who looks good in army green, mustard yellow, burnt orange, rust — Fall colors. (sigh, puke colors)

she ran into this Alexander McQueen Green Draped Goddess Mini Dress for McQ from Fall 2010.

A draped goddess style, but short. That’s not a worry – dievca is short.

It is a press sample Size 6

Bust 38″ Waist 26′ Hips 40″ Length 36″

Coming for the UK, its on offer for $300 and $14 shipping.

So, dievca’s question is…with that draping, is that going to be too much going on for a short, curvy, muscular body? Or is that going to look fabulous?  dievca sees black or brown high heeled sandals for dress up or flat leather sandals for casual. Maybe even boots!

She does think it is an easier piece to wear than the Alexander Wang 2008 dress she picked up at at a Barney’s Warehouse sale years ago for $80 and hasn’t worn…

 

Honestly, both have a lot going on….maybe dievca should avoid both.
Any thoughts?

The first dress can be found at 1stDibs (click here), the 2nd is in dievca’s closet…


19 Comments on “(Asking for opinions, please!) A lot going on – two Alexanders”

  1. Pelelotus says:

    A modern Grecian goddess. X

  2. Anami Blog says:

    Honest Opinion as requested: the dress is short, so will leave some space for the legs, therefore compliment their length.
    High waist sits under the boobs is another advantage, I’m a bit concerned about the lower cut, but then again, on this figure I’m missing something, it just doesn’t seem to work well with the dress. Point is, a bit curvier body could do the dress a lot of justice.
    Another concern is the wide shoulder cut, but if you are muscular without having a broad back then it will be nice, otherwise I would recommend rather a spaghetti shoulder dress.
    Hope it makes sense, and haven’t confused you more. Personally, I prefer the 2nd dress, though.

    • dievca says:

      Anami, Thank you for your thoughts! It would be great to see the first dress on a human, not a mannequin — but we are out-of-luck. The first dress looks more comfortable fabric-wise and I think your are right about the curves. My back is ok, shoulders and hips about equal — so I wouldn’t look like a swimmer. Bust, 34C – so I think we are ok, there, too. Much love!

  3. Depends what the occasion is, but, that second dress is stunning, I love it with those boots!
    You really should wear it!

    Ash

  4. little one says:

    I too look best in those pukey colors… but, I radically changed the color of my hair and now other ‘seasons’ look better since my skin appears less olive-y. That said, the first dress would look better because of the v neckline… those draw the eye upward and away from the curves a bit. i am curvy but tall and the goddess silhouette is always fabulous, especially the short length for you. 💜

    • dievca says:

      You know– I read about that issue with changing your hair color, then your clothing colors need to be modified! Got it. I’ve only gone golden or reddish in the past. Goddess silhouette is fabulous for curves! Both of these dresses do run shorter. XO

  5. Ret MP says:

    you can do this. both are beautiful. Love the black tall boots with this color. What will you do for color pop?

    • dievca says:

      I’m still thinking about it….I haven’t tried on the Barney’s dress in awhile, so I should start there. Color pop? I’ve been into Khaki Green and a middle blue — a little off but interesting.

  6. If you wear the high boots, you’ll look terrific even if you wear nothing else. 😀

  7. Marty says:

    My only thought is I’d like to see you in both


Thoughts?

