Doesn’t matter where it came from, it applies~

May the sun bring you new energy by day,

May the moon softly restore you by night,

May the rain wash away your worries,

May the breeze blow new strength into your being,

May you walk gently through the world and know its beauty all the days of your life.


A close friend was diagnosed with Cancer, they began treatment this week. No form of cancer is easy to deal with but the timeline for this type is …. dismal.

Add that everyone has moved on from the Faith they grew up with and dievca did not replace hers with their new Faith, she doesn’t do their religious platitudes well.

But, I love you is good.

And, perhaps, the piece above … (or is that a platitude and trite?)

Sigh.

The piece above was written for the 1947 Western novel Blood Brother by Elliott Arnold. The fictional blessing entered popular consciousness when it made its way into the 1950 film adaptation of the novel Broken Arrow, scripted by Albert Maltz.

People think it is an Apache Blessing.

Fictional or not, the words convey positive wishes.

In the end, all you can do is pray to whatever deity you chose, send your strength through the ether, be there for any research/communication/cheerleading/venting that is needed and show up, be present and donate whatever is needed when called upon.

Currently, dievca is using Joy and Happiness through stories and memories to try to lessen the pain as well as remind that Life has components that are worthy of effort. Not sure it is working, but its all she can think to do right now.

dievca is taking suggestions~


11 Comments on “Doesn’t matter where it came from, it applies~”

  1. Love is the ultimate teaching, the ultimate life’s work.

  2. Pelelotus says:

    Sorry to hear about your friend, hope they make a speedy recovery. X

  3. Ret MP says:

    I found music to be a great celebration on a daily basis of life and love. I chose some inspirational music and tried to share a song a few times a week with my brother in law when he was diagnosed with lung cancer.

    When my child was on chemo for two years I detested the prayer chain requests, the blessings offered, the prayers offered…until I realized that the prayers they offered me weren’t for me at all; nor were they for my child…the prayers made THEM feel better and I was happy to give them that gift of comfort, though they felt they were offering comfort to me who could not be comforted; and my child certainly didn’t feel any relief from her suffering due to prayers offered so she was grateful to find a way to re-direct their religious commentary in a way that was non-confrontational.

    Knowing it gave them peace was also a relief from having to show that those prayers somehow helped in the moment they were spoken. Indeed she could not give them relief from their concern because it was out of her control to get better.

    Another gift you can offer without religion is the gift of meditation. Reading inspirational poetry, greeting the sunrise with yoga and sun salutations, visiting with gifts of hand massage, foot massage (reflexology) and aromatherapy also showed support and were personal and healing beyond a card.

    Permission for your friend to be sad (or feel any emotion) in your presence is also a healing gift. There are a range of emotions during this time- anger, regret, remorse, denial, pity, self-loathing, depression… faking a happy face for visitors is a chore. Likewise, when you visit- you can be the honest one– I’m sorry this is happening to you is honest. I’m angry this is happening to you is honest too.

    Unable to know what they need at that moment, it is often hard to know how to help, sometimes the best help is taking care of things outside of the person– their animals, their family, their lawn, their bills.

    Gratitude is also a gift. Stopping in with thank you cards and helping to write those notes and connect with all the helpers who come forward gives peace to someone who may not have the energy to do it and a gratitude-attitude brings joy and love though some of the worst of times.

    I’m sorry you are hurting with your friend. I wish I could help. I hope my words help you find direction and they comfort you in your sadness.
    Love, Ret

    • dievca says:

      Ret, Thank you so much. I need to read and re-read. I had come to that conclusion that people are comforting themselves, sometimes.
      With their new Faith, my friends are killing themselves to pray and be kind. I wrote a text and said “I know you are being kind, so I will say it for you…after all that damn time watching your f**ing colon so carefully, some little sh*t thing up the line stepped up to give you trouble. What kind of bullsh*t is that? OK, now that has been said we can proceed on to our regularly scheduled game plan to take care of your body.”
      I have a thumb drive that is disguised in a “mixtape” cassette case and I have started to make a mixtape of college music, new music and soothing pieces for my friend. I think its a really good way to go — Thank You, again. XO

  4. You’re a good friend Dievca… I don’t know how to pray, but my thoughts are with you and your friend. Love & Hugs xxx

  5. johncoyote says:

    All we can do is be kind, pray and hope for a cure quickly. No-one want pity. They want love and comfort.


Thoughts?

